Skip to content

Formspring: round 2

March 7, 2010

As always, if you have any questions, you can ask them at my formspring page.

If you don’t have a goal weight, how do you know when you’ve lost enough and it’s time to stop dieting? -Tricia

Basically, my idea is that I’ll stop losing weight when I have to use drastic or unhealthy methods to keep losing weight. So when I reach a point where getting any more weight off involves lots of hunger or too much exercise then I’ll stop there.

BTW, I would define lots of hunger as the kind of dieting where I’m obsessed with food all day, feel cranky, have physical hunger pains etc… IOW, the way I used to think that being on a diet had to feel. And too much exercise is both when I don’t give my body a chance to recover and when feeling obligated to exercise outweighs my enjoyment of movement.

I was curious as to how you process the 5% success rate for dieting with your decision to lose weight. Do you believe that you will definitely be one of the rare success stories?

This is really easy to answer. I don’t believe the failure rate for weight loss is 95%. I think it’s high, but not that high. And I’m in some classes where the percentage of people who won’t pass can be as high as 50%, I’m still in the classes because 1)it’s worth it to me to try and do this and 2)I believe I know what I need to do in order to pass my classes. It’s not a perfect analogy, but I feel the same about fat loss.

You never mention your weight, or change in size. I’m curious how your high sugar but regular calorie diet is affecting this.

Well, first I should clarify that my high sugar diet was only for a briefish period of time. I’m now back to a more balanced way of eating with higher protein, lots of veggies and fruit and, yes, sweet stuff sometimes too.

However, even when my diet was high in sugar, I was still relying on counting calories to lose weight so it didn’t affect my weight loss much at all nor did it seem to change my waist circumference (I’ve heard some theories that higher sugar diets can affect where you gain weight.) I will say that it’s harder to maintain a larger deficit when you’re not eating filling foods though.

On a related note, I don’t get specific with how the scale or other measurements are changing. This is mainly for me. I want to see a downward trend, but I don’t want to obsess and not blogging the numbers is one of many ways I avoid that obsession.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

