Skip to content

The lonely gym rat

November 23, 2009

I know I know. I said I would discuss the articles from my previous entry. I’m still thinking some of this stuff over though so it’ll have to wait.

Anyway, I thought I would ask some of you a question. I know that I have quite a few readers who have lost weight by overhauling their lifestyles. What I’m struggling with now and hoping to get some feedback on is this: Did any of you have reconciling aspects of your old lifestyle with how you like to live now? Like, I feel bored and restless doing a lot of the things that I used to enjoy doing with friends. And I often get a lot of crap from family and some friends for not eating the way I used to (“But we always get dessert!”) or for wanting to go to they gym most days. I’m intensely happy with the changes I’ve made, but I feel like I can barely mention them IRL for the reaction I’ll get.

Did any of you struggle with these issues? Did they get resolved?

3 Comments leave one →
  1. November 24, 2009 6:39 am

    Honestly, I was apparently a trend setter. I was really worried at first when I got into watching what I ate and working out. I was scared that my best friend – who was a good 50 pounds heavier than me – would be angry/jealous/sabatoguy (is that a word? I don’t think so!)

    And what ended up happening was that pretty much everyone I know joined Weight Watchers and started some sort of exercise plan. In the last two years, me, my husband, my two best friends have all dropped CONSIDERABLE amounts of weight (over 300 pounds!). So now we talk workout and recipes and what we’re doing and clothes, and stuff.

    It’s weird, but it’s like we all grew together, instead of growing apart.

    But sometimes people do grow apart. i had a good friend in college who I now no longer have any common interests with AT ALL. I still see her from time to time, but it’s more for the sake of what was than what is.

  2. Caitlan permalink
    November 24, 2009 11:58 am

    My boyfriend loves to overeat at most meals but his metabolism keeps him near an underweight BMI, so if I try to cut down on what I’m eating he can’t believe what small portions I need to eat if I want to lose weight, and thinks I am on a crazy lo calorie diet when I am eating ~1200 calories/day. I’ve explained it to him but he actually nags me to eat more, and makes me food, and calls me “to make sure you’re eating”. But OTOH he is great for walks.

  3. November 29, 2009 6:44 pm

    I don’t talk about my food or exercise program, and that helps a lot. I just stick to the things I have in common with people in my life, and there is still a lot.

Leave a Reply

