Skip to content

Good to know

November 20, 2009

As I mentioned in a previous post, I’ve decided to wear my bodybugg again for a few weeks or so in order to get a better idea of my average energy expenditure these days. So what am I burning?

About 3200 calories each day. Not bad. My BMR (basal metabolic rate) is still around 1800 calories/day so that’s 1400 or so calories burned through physical activity. But you know what’s great? I haven’t been to the gym at all in the time I’ve been wearing the bugg. I’ve walked the dog (walked. not run or jogged or hiked over mountain trails) and gone to class and cleaned my house and played wii with friends, but I haven’t put on a sports bra or climbed on an elliptical or lifted a weight.

And it’s like with the discovery that I could eat total crap and still manage my intake to meet my goals. I don’t want to stop going to the gym any more than I would want to spend the rest of my life eating twizzlers and drinking diet rootbeer. Health is a lot more than losing weight, after all. But it’s good to know that I have that flexibility even while losing weight.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. Caitlan permalink
    November 21, 2009 5:07 am

    I’m curious how it can measure your basal metabolic rate? Do you rest for a bit and then multiply it by the hours in a day? Sorry if that’s too basic/annoying.

    • November 21, 2009 6:55 am

      I wear it while I sleep then just take that rate (for me, around 1.2-1.3 calories/minute) to be my BMR. It’s probably not completely accurate, but close enough.

  2. November 21, 2009 6:13 am

    I’d like to know the answer to Caitlan’s question, too. I’ve been debating getting a bodybugg vs. just wearing my HR monitor on my wrist all day. Pros? Cons? I’d be interested in your opinion on the bugg.

  3. November 21, 2009 7:05 am

    Honestly, I don’t know much about HR monitors. The one I have doesn’t record data or anything and I only ever used it while working out.

    I guess it would depend on what information you want out of a device. The bodybugg is especially good for showing how much NEAT affects daily expenditure and it was definitely eye-opening in terms of how much different exercises burned. However, it’s all very calorie focused. The program you use to load the bugg’s info on the computer has a big space to log the calories you’ve eaten so it can compare the two numbers. I do think it can encourage some OCD-ishness in that way.

    BUT, the calorie recommendations and the food plan it makes for you are *very* realistic. And it does encourage healthy weight loss. So it really depends on what you’re interested in knowing, I guess.

    • November 22, 2009 7:14 pm

      Thanks! The downside to my HR monitor is that I have to keep taking my HR in order to get an accurate reading. I might have to look into a bodybugg, if I can find one for a reasonable price. Decisions, decisions . . . đŸ˜‰

  4. meerkat permalink
    November 29, 2009 5:06 am

    What, because gym exercise is inherently better than walking the dog and playing active Wii games? Because chore exercise is just healthier than exercise that is actually possibly fun? It sounds like you’re saying that if you did only these things you would be *unhealthy.*

    • November 29, 2009 8:05 pm

      Not unhealthy, but probably not capable of the same kind of strength/endurance as I am now. Gym exercise is more exercise in pursuit of a particular goal (get stronger, improve cardiovascular fitness, etc…) while wii and walking tend to be the ‘because I love to move’ exercise. One’s not better than the other, they just serve different purposes in my life.

      • meerkat permalink
        July 9, 2010 7:51 am

        Okay, so walking along the river does not improve cardiovascular fitness, but it might if I did it on a treadmill at a gym (or if I humiliated myself by running instead of walking). Incidentally, I don’t walk along the river “because I love to move”; I do it because my favorite vegan restaurant is several blocks upriver from the big used book store. Not everyone can just get over the decades of body hate and love movement.

        Of course, there are probably fewer opportunities for weight training outside of the gym. I would recommend reorganizing large book collections.

        So if gym exercise accomplishes goals, what do Wii and walking accomplish? Fun? That can be acquired in non-exercise ways (and much more efficiently, seeing as how I don’t even have a dog). Love of movement? My mileage varies. Apparently they do *not* accomplish filling your exercise quota, or there wouldn’t be a question of beating yourself up over doing them but not doing the gym variety.

Leave a Reply

