Skip to content

Protein Pancakes

November 4, 2009

I’m not a big fan of the category of foods I would label as ‘diet’ foods. Recipes that call for multiple substituitons (applesauce for oil in baking, steam ‘frying’ veggies instead of using olive oil, replacing all sugar with splenda) are, imnsho, a lot of work for a lot of blandness. And most of the time they don’t even cut that many calories per serving.

But of course there are exceptions. Generally these are foods where for whatever reason, I prefer the taste of the modified version (I’m realizing that it’s so often all about taste for me.) Protein pancakes are one of these foods. I’m not a huge fan of pancakes in general. I sometimes get a mad craving for them, but whenever I eat them, I’m tired of them after a few bites. Plus they make me sleepy and gross feeling. So only eat a few at a time and save the rest, right? Well, I don’t like the way they taste when they’ve been heated up. Which has long meant that I simply don’t eat pancakes.

All of those issues are gone with these babies. They’re high protein and have some fiber so they are filling, but won’t leave me lethargic. They heat up well so they’re great to make and then keep around for the week. Now, not everyone likes these so if you don’t have the ingredients handy, then I’m not telling you to run out and make some right now. But if you happen to have some protein powder around, then definitely give them a try.

Ingredients:
3/4 cup oats
1-2 scoops protein powder
2 “eggs” or egg white equivalent
1-2 tbsp water
optional:
banana and/or choc chips

Now I grind up my oats in the vitamix to make oat flour first, but you can just dump all the ingredients in a blender and blend until well mixed. Check your consistency and add water as needed. If your protein powder is not sweetened, then also add some sweetener to taste. If you’re using a banana, put it in with the rest of the ingredients.

Heat up a griddle or whatever you cook pancakes on, make sure it has some cooking spray or oil on it. Pour batter in the pan and keep an eye on the pancakes. Most of the time, I find they’re ready to flip by the time I see a single bubble, but I’ve also burned a few in that time.

One of the most awesome ways to eat these is fresh off the griddle with a smear of peanut butter. OMG. So good. A warning though, these are pretty heavy. It’s easy to snarf down three of these things quickly and then suddenly feel like you’ve eaten a lot. I speak from experience.

If I make them with 2 scoops of protein powder, I get about 6 medium sized pancakes. At about 94 calories and with 10g of protein each, they’re a great breakfast or post-lifting snack.

If you google ‘protein pancakes’ you’ll find lots of variations with different fillings or made with cottage cheese etc…

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

