Skip to content

Maybe I’ve actually learned something

September 5, 2009

So I’ve started school. I’m in a new house, in a new town. My gym schedule has fallen apart, my eating has been a bit erratic. And yet, I haven’t gained a pound. In fact, I’ve lost a few, I think.

These facts have loosened up some tightly wound coil deep in my psyche. As I’m sure many people who read this understand, weight loss can feel like work while gaining back that weight is often easy. Any time I’ve lost weight (whether a few pounds or 30) I’ve felt like it was just waiting for me. Stalking me. Peeking through the window while I stepped on the scale and waiting for the right moment to pounce and attach itself to me once again. And historically, for me weight regain has been quick to follow disruptions in my eating or exercise regimen.

But not now.

You know, I get that the phrase “lifestyle change” has been overused and, in the public discourse, is basically meaningless. But this is why I feel like there is a great big dividing line between when I’ve been on diets and what I’ve been doing the past year. I haven’t lost as much weight as I might have if I’d gone low-carb or followed some ultra-low calorie plan, but I don’t feel like my eating habits are held together by a frayed string that might snap at any moment. Finding a way that worked for me, for my particular tastes and idiosyncrasies and neurosis took a while, but now it feels natural.

And now that this coil has unwound and my fear that regimen and structure were the lynchpin of the whole thing has proven to be unfounded, I’m suddenly very relaxed. The frustration that this was going soooo slow is gone. You know, it took years and the combined efforts of multiple social, parental, peer and personal pressures to develop what, was for me, a profoundly unhealthy approach toward food. The fact that it’s taking time to heal that doesn’t seem like such a big deal anymore.

I’m not sure where this (weight loss, blog, journey towards fitness) is going, but I’m very positive about it all.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. September 5, 2009 10:25 am

    That’s a great space to be in– eating comfortably and well, feeling confident about what works and what doesn’t, and not having to freak out about stepping on the scale. Enjoy!

  2. September 5, 2009 11:23 am

    I also adopted that attitude a while back and it has served me so well. Good for you! And good luck settling into your new environment.

  3. September 5, 2009 3:26 pm

    I don’t feel like my eating habits are held together by a frayed string that might snap at any moment.

    This is a fantastic thing. I am glad you’ve found this place, whatever happens (or doesn’t happen) with your weight. It’s a hard thing to learn, and I think you’re right to suspect you’ve made a real, permanent shift.

    That is how I felt, too, when I finally learned “normal eating” and my weight stabilized for the first time in my life. It’s now been, what, four years, and things still seem to be working. That’s what a “lifestyle change” really means, despite how the phrase has been abused by diet concerns. Sounds like you’ve truly made one.

  4. September 6, 2009 6:33 am

    I love love this snippet:

    I am suddenly very relaxed

    so freakin important

    for healthy living and LIFE.

  5. September 8, 2009 5:45 pm

    I think this is when you know you’ve won the game, (or adapted the lifestyle), whatever you want to call it. This is now the way you are. This is the way I am. My life continues this way, whether I put mental energy in or not. Yes, relaxed is a good thing. I still get impatient, but it’s fleeting. Congrats.

  6. September 14, 2009 12:31 am

    there are 10 simple tips that you can practice in order to achieve the dream of:

    1. Set your goals slowly. Get decrease in the range of 0.5kg to 1kg per week.
    2. Can take supplements such as Glutamine each day after exercise session.
    3. Reduce the intake of food or drink sweet (sugar content high).
    4. Just eat fruit instead.
    5. Drinks more mineral water and do not drink alcoholic beverages.
    6. Set the time you eat each day.
    7. Eat in the dining area and not in front of the tv.
    8. Familiarize themselves with the smaller plates when eating.
    9. Fill your days with doing certain activities to avoid fun thought of food.
    10. Make sure you get adequate rest. For example bedtime. Sleep in 6 to 8 hours a day.

    You can follow all this tips to get more ideal body, visits here to more info..

  7. September 15, 2009 1:37 pm

    Wow, this is amazing. Attrice, I’m so glad for you! Hoping to be where you are now sometime next year. πŸ™‚

  8. September 29, 2009 3:17 pm

    Hey, just checking in to make sure all is well. πŸ™‚

  9. October 11, 2009 11:48 am

    Attrice, please come back to your blog! I miss your voice of reason, hope all is well.

Leave a Reply

