Skip to content

Why I don’t care about your results pt 1

June 24, 2009

That title may be a bit harsh.

So my new BFF has handed me a handy dandy way to illustrate a problem I see all the time in the dieting and fitness communities. Namely, the holding up of results as the refutation of any argument against a particular trainer/diet/idea. To illustrate:

Person A: You low carb people are ridiculous. There is no big metabolic advantage with low carb diets that would enable you to eat twice as much as you would on a high-carb diet and still lose weight.

Person B: HEY! I lost a bazillion pounds doing low-carb so why don’t you shut up!

Person B needs a ticket for the logic train.

Let me break this down using small words: Whether or not a particular diet/guru worked for you does not have any actual bearing on whether or not the claims that are used to back up the diet are true.

Tracy Anderson’s bullshit about hot rooms, fattening spices and teeny tiny weights have probably not a shred of evidence behind them (I say probably because someone can always find one single study that ‘proves’ their point all the while ignoring the mountain of evidence on the other side.) That doesn’t mean her plan doesn’t “work.” It just doesn’t work for any special non-spicy reason. It works, like every single other fucking diet on the planet, by creating an energy deficit that makes it so your body has to go to its stored energy to keep you going.

I know what many of you are thinking: “Attrice, if a particular way of doing things is what helps me feel better and achieve my fitness goals, then does it matter why it works?”

No, it really doesn’t. On a personal level. So why do I care so much?

I’ll explain in part two. Hopefully tomorrow.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. June 25, 2009 12:22 am

    Nothing works. Everything works. It seems like it should be so simple, yet it has to be super complicated. I’m getting burnt on the whole issue, tired and bored.

  2. stlwtr permalink
    June 26, 2009 5:52 pm

    Ok…this cracked me up. Any time someone starts going on about their magic diet I can feel my brain shut off. I can’t wait to read part 2!

  3. Aimay permalink
    June 27, 2009 3:59 pm

    This is gonna be good…!

  4. June 28, 2009 10:56 am

    No offense to you, Attrice, I agree with you 100%, I’ve just been reading too many whackos recently who seem to be convinced that fruit makes you fat, aerobics is unhealthy, and we should all be eating as much red meat and butter as we can tolerate. Plus, one of my friends is starting to get really into conspiracy theories (political) and is freaking me out a little. If it doesn’t make sense, it’s probably not true. However, I understand if they don’t see anything different, find some hidden “evidence”, that for some reason is not accessible or known to the majority, then nobody will buy their book or do their training. I don’t even think that half of these people screaming the loudest even believe what is coming out of their own mouths.

  5. July 8, 2009 10:05 pm

    Waiting for Pt. 2 with bated breath!

Trackbacks

  1. Weight Loss Blogs: Kickin’ Ass and Takin’ Names | Carmen gets what she want

Leave a Reply

