Skip to content

Quick group e-hug!

June 13, 2009

Despite my claim that I didn’t want reassurances, it was still really nice to find all those lovely comments this morning. I have to leave for work in just a minute so I don’t have time for more personal replies at this minute.

After thinking about it a bit last night, I’ve decided it boils down to 1) Feeling a little blah in general and 2) complexity is hard. I do envy those blogs where the writer(s) has decided exactly what the answers are and there is no reason to look any further because it’s….carbs, fat, animal products, lazy fat people, all anti-fat b.s. etc… There’s a bit of envy for how much easier it must be to navigate these topics when you have a handy-dandy narrative set up to answer every last question. In general though, I also think those answers are full of crap.

Which is my way of saying I’ll continue trying to do the best I can to be fair and to acknowledge the complexities of all these issues even if sometimes it makes my writing sound all milquetoasty.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. vesta44 permalink
    June 13, 2009 10:44 am

    The thing is, weight is a very individual thing, and what works for one person, health-wise, may not ( probably won’t) work for another, simply because we aren’t cookies stamped out on a line somewhere. None of us have exactly the same experiences, or physical needs, as anyone else, and the devil is in the details, as they say. It’s those details that can derail the best of intentions, and our bodies seem to want what they want, in spite of what we want for them.
    My philosophy is to be as healthy as I can in the body I have, and if weight loss happens, it happens. If it doesn’t happen, then it doesn’t happen and I’m not going to hate on myself anymore for something that’s pretty much beyond my control (been there done that too many times, and I’m tired of it, and done with it, finally).

  2. June 16, 2009 1:50 pm

    Oh, I’m just catching up here, and I hope you don’t stop writing. I LOVE this blog. I had the same fatosphere experience, feeling like I didn’t QUITE fit, but also finding that the straight-up diet blogs didn’t work and made me feel like crap. I’m SO GLAD there are other people out there who are looking for a middle path (not to say that the sides of the path aren’t valid for others; they just don’t seem to work for ME, and it’s nice to know I’m not alone).

Leave a Reply

