Skip to content

And in other news, sun still at center of the solar system.

May 26, 2009

Hey, did y’all know that exercise won’t magically turn you into a fat-burning machine?

It’s not so much that I doubt there are still many people who believe that a pound of muscle burns hundreds of calories every second (and that lifting tiny weights once in a while will result in gaining pounds of muscle.) I am just constantly frustrated because if science and health reporters spent less time chasing fads and more time listening to what the majority of experts have been saying for years, the fact that exercise isn’t magic *would* be a lot more widely known.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. May 26, 2009 10:20 pm

    Fads sell. Nobody wants to hear that they need to eat less, or munch a vegetable occasionally. I think exercise burns whatever amount of calories it’s burning while you’re exercising, and it may be enough to burn an extra cookie, but probably not an extra meal. I think it has a huge affect on hormones and neurotransmitters, and has such an impact on my mood and how I feel, I don’t think I’d be able to have any weight loss without it. Maybe now I won’t feel bad that I’m so lazy and unmotivated at the strength training, since I won’t gain muscle anyway. Not that I’ve ever wanted any, judge if you must.

    • May 27, 2009 7:44 pm

      The effect on my sanity would probably be worth it even if exercise added some small amount of calories to my day (how this would work, I don’t know.)

      Yeah, fads sell. I suspect they always will. I even get why it behooves reporters to not crap all over the latest diet fad, but it would be nice if good, science-based information on diet and exercise was as easy to find as bad information.

      It probably deserves its own post, but it is interesting how my views on muscle have changed since I started lifting. I mean, I got into it because anything to help offset the slowing of my metabolism was a good thing and too much cardio bores me. Now though, I’ve really come to like the aesthetics of muscle on women – although not the super skinny, drug-fueled stuff you see in professional circles. You can keep the spray tan and the ultra-low body fat, tyvm. : )

  2. brahnamin permalink
    May 27, 2009 5:16 am

    Yeah, I think there are two different camps of wishful thinkers out there: the foodies who want to think that exercise alone will allow them to eat all they want and attain the shape they desire; and the anti-sweat brigade that want to diet their way to six-pack abs.

    The fact is, exercise tones and shapes your muscles while creating a calorie deficit in relationship to your energy output allows you to burn the fat.

    It takes the two together day after day to see the results the fads promise (but can’t deliver). It takes work and commitment over the long haul.

    If you’ll forgive the plug, there is No Quick Fix.

    • May 27, 2009 7:47 pm

      Yup.

      In some ways it’s the flip side of those people who think that to be fat one has to be ultra-sedentary and constantly bingeing. The fact that little things add up and a small deficit or a small surplus can make a big difference in the long-run is just more than people can take.

      And I *loved* the plug. Smooooooth. :p I’ll change it on my links.

  3. June 27, 2009 9:43 am

    Thank for shareing, great content..

Leave a Reply

