Skip to content

Could these possibly be related?

May 20, 2009

Honest-to-god, this is a faithful summary of an actual conversation I read on a message board dedicated to training/fitness. I’m not quoting the actual messages or linking to the site because I don’t want attention from these people:

Person A: *posts picture of fat person* Hey! Motivation!!
Person B: Hahaha. Gross. People like that definitely make me want to go to the gym.
Person C: Um, that’s mean. I mean, she’s totally gross and awful and ewwwww (natch) but you don’t know her. Maybe she’s already lost weight or she wants to but she doesn’t know anything. There’s a lot of idiots out there telling fat people a load of crap when it comes to losing weight.
Person A: *rollseyes* People like that just want to stuff their faces all the time. They’re not interested in doing anything else. They just want to waddle around smelling like shit and gulping big macs.
Person B: hahahha Totally! We have lots of people posting here and pretty much none of them are fat. The few fatties who come here never stay long.
Person A: Yeah, cuz they’re stupid and fat.

I can’t even imagine why fat people wouldn’t hang around these guys for extended periods of time.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. peggynature permalink
    May 20, 2009 11:58 am

    Someone actually said something very similar about me, right in front of me.

    Two joggers were coming up behind me on the sidewalk, where I was walking, and as they passed me, the one jogger said to the other (clearly referring to me, since I was the only other person on the street, and since I could hear their entire conversation), “Inspiration, eh?”

    Yeah, I wasn’t impressed, but I was too shocked to say anything right away. Though I thought of several things I could have said, later.

    But I started thinking, yeah, fuck right I’m an inspiration. I like myself, and I know how to take care of myself, and I’m working on a degree in nutrition. Who the hell wouldn’t be inspired by me?

    But yet, people wonder why some fat people aren’t all enthusiastic about joining gyms or working out in public. Maybe because people like to hold us up as an example of what NOT to do?

  2. May 21, 2009 10:19 am

    What a pair of asshats these guys must be. The hatred against the overweight is ubiquitous, irrational and seems based on fear, like other hatred I remember was so prevalent from my high school days, but I won’t go into it. I’ve run into a blog started by a guy just to poke fun at the overweight, and he decided that he wanted to become an RD, and I had to point out to him that most of his clients will probably be overweight, and they’re not going to work with him if they sense he thinks they’re disgusting and stupid. Hopefully, I at least made him think.

Leave a Reply

