Skip to content

Friday Five: Five weight loss ideas whose effects have probably been exaggerated.

May 15, 2009

I’m sick on my day off. Of course. And so I’m not even going to list these with my usual rambling “explanations.” I’m just going to link to people who say it better than I do.

1. Green Tea
2. Gaining muscle
3. HIIT (High intensity interval training)
4. “Fat burning” zones

5. Ok, I don’t actually have five. There are a lot more of these ideas out there, of course. Offhand I can think of several people in the last month who have told me they only work out on an empty stomach (um, what?) or that they never ever ever ever eat after 7pm (the magic fat hour!) So you fill in number five for me. Tell me what people around you are convinced is some kind of super fat-burning magic bullet. Yeah, that’s right, do my blogging for me. You got a problem. Wanna fight about it?

fight

I’m going back to bed. Happy Friday, everyone.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Caitlan permalink
    May 16, 2009 6:46 am

    well, you lose weight in days on a water fast, but it is basically your newly empty colon.

    • May 16, 2009 2:17 pm

      Along the same line, there’s a guy at my gym who works out in one of those garbage-bag-type things. He works out for an hour or so and then gets on the scale where he, honest-to-god, does a “yeah’ fist pump and a little celebration shuffle.

      I don’t want to burst anyone’s bubble, but I also really want to tell him that he’s an idiot.

  2. May 17, 2009 10:13 am

    Hope you feel better soon.

    Actually, re: your guy at the gym – I once went on a blind coffee date with a guy who showed up in one of those plastic sweat suits because he was trying to lose weight. He lost a bunch of credibility right there, but when he suggested we go to Cold Stone and proceeded to order the BIGGEST sundae on the menu and THEN sit outside and mention casually how much time it took to sweat off the weight, he lost whatever shreds of credibility I’d hoped for. All I could do was sit there thinking, “You’d have better luck wearing normal clothes and skipping the sundae, genius.” Lordy.

Leave a Reply

