Skip to content

Conundrum

May 7, 2009

I want a bodybugg. I could definitely spend a few months looking at how different activities affected my metabolism. Maybe look at my metabolism against my menstrual cycle. See if days when I’m especially hungry coincide with days when I’m using slightly more energy. The possibilities are endless fairly numerous.

But I only want it for a few months. There’s nothing new to be learned after that initial period, I would think. How long can “Omg! My metabolism totally spiked when I was exercising!” be interesting? Plus it’s way out of my price range *and* you have to pay for an additional subscription service to use it.

Why can’t there be some kind of service for people who want to share way overpriced and almost pointless technology. We could split the cost and each keep the bodybugg for a few months. I would pay a hundred bucks for that. Probably.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. May 9, 2009 10:05 am

    It would be nice to borrow one of these for a month, just to see. Sometimes I look at the graphs of other people, and it’s interesting to see sitting on couch vs walking to bathroom, exercising, eating, etc. Likely when the technology gets older, it will get cheaper, and companies will be willing to accommodate those of us who don’t want a lifetime subscription.

    • May 11, 2009 5:42 am

      I hope so. I mean, don’t get me wrong, I probably wouldn’t be too surprised by anything there, (Wow, I burn more calories exercising than I do surfing the internet.) but I’d still like to get a good idea of how much my days vary.

  2. May 9, 2009 12:09 pm

    It would probably just drive me crazy. I weigh myself weekly, keep active, and try not to obsess. It all works out.

  3. brahnamin permalink
    May 13, 2009 11:00 pm

    Why can’t there be some kind of service for people who want to share way overpriced and almost pointless technology?

    There is such a service.

    Craig’s List, E-Bay, etc . . .

    Sure, the first bloke has to pony up full price, but then he gets to sell it to someone else for half to two thirds that and so on and so on and so on . . . somewhere down the line someone’s getting the bloody thing for pennies on the pound.

Leave a Reply

