Skip to content

Easy as pie…mmmm pie

April 30, 2009

Writing that last entry seems to have helped loosen something up. Maybe one of those times when just acknowledging neuroses can have an immediate positive effect on them, but I’ve upped my calories for the past few days. I’ve definitely noticed a big increase in energy especially in the evening when I used to just drag myself limply all over the place. It’s too soon to tell if anything of consequence is happening weight-wise and I wouldn’t know anyway as I decided to retire the scale for a month.

Like I said once upon a time in this entry, I think any weight loss tool (scales, body fat analyzers, exercise, counting calories) can become something unhealthy but that it depends on how people see it/use it. I’m relying too much on what the scale says these days. Given the sudden big jump in my activity levels as well as lingering hormonal issues (although getting better!!) it’s probably very normal that the numbers are going to jump around quite a bit.

Adding food has been remarkably easy despite fearing that, since I didn’t feel particularly hungry, I was going to have to stuff myself. I’ve been adding a snack between breakfast and lunch and eating more for my post-workout snack. Mainly yogurt parfaits since I’m utterly obsessed with the awesome new strawberries the local produce store got in. The parfaits are nice because it satisfies the desire for sweet while having nutrients and fiber and all that boring stuff.

So yeah, things going well.

Oh and because I don’t need to create a whole separate post for it…. After my week of non-lifting, I came back and deadlifted 130lbs! Woot. It’s getting to the point where my grip can’t keep up. I’m going to have to get my hands stronger.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. May 1, 2009 3:39 am

    I agree, acknowledging and writing about neurosis often helps to face it and take reasonable steps to get through it. And the scale sucks-I gained 6 pounds since last night. What else can I do other than roll my eyes? My dad once gave me this squeezy thing that strengthens the hands, it’s about 20 years old, there’s likely better stuff now.

    Is that vegan yogurt?

    • May 1, 2009 6:23 am

      Yeah, purely decadent makes a vegan yogurt from coconut milk. Awesome.

      Six pounds! Ha, bodies are so weird.

  2. May 1, 2009 4:28 am

    Man, I needed to read this today. My scale announced this morning that this week, when I’ve been working out and eating right, I GAINED 2 pounds. After I talked myself down from the ledge (only sort of kidding, there), I shoved the scale WAY under the sink and decided to ignore it. I know from experience that when I start working out I gain weight for a little while: I just put muscle on REALLY REALLY fast. Always have. (I did get out the tape measure though, which makes me LESS crazy, and was reassured. Dodged THAT “Crazy” bullet. Near miss, though.)

    • May 1, 2009 6:26 am

      Lyle Mcdonald, one of the fitness people I really like, recommends that women only weigh once a month during the exact same phase of their menstrual cycle precisely because our weight tends to jump all over the place especially when starting a new diet and/or adding exercise. My hormonal issues (maybe pcos, maybe not) would make that difficult, but I’m starting to think that once-per-month thing might not be a bad idea.

      The tape measurer makes me crazy because I can never remember how tightly I held it last time or if I’m measuring the same place. Although I do use it occasionally to check my progress.

      • Ruth permalink
        May 2, 2009 5:38 am

        I really like the idea of once a month weigh-ins. I think I’ll try that because the once a week thing is driving me nuts. I got on the scale this morning for the first time in a couple of weeks and was pleasantly surprised to see that I was down a bit, but after reading through Health at Every Size I’m finally learning not to place so much emphasis on the scales. The fact that my glucose and blood pressure numbers are more acceptable, and I’m not running for nitro or oxygen every five minutes is a much better indicator of my overall health than a number on the scales. I just wish I’d read the book sooner.

Leave a Reply

