Skip to content

Easier to give than it is to receive

April 28, 2009

Let’s say someone told me that they recently (as in the past month or so) had started a job at a bakery where they were on their feet and moving for 35 hours every week. For shits and giggles, let’s also say this person told me they lifted weights 3 days per week and did cardio on non-lifting days. And let’s say this person, who was trying to lose weight, had tracked their calories recently and they were eating even a little less than before due to no longer working as a nanny where they were in a home and trying to encourage kids to eat throughout the day. And, totally hypothetically here, let’s say that this person’s weight had been all over the place ( up then down then up – although slowly trending down) for the past month.

What would I tell this person?

I would tell them that since they were probably moving at least an extra 20 hours per week, their energy needs had gone up. I would tell them that since they had been dieting for a while without a break perhaps they needed a break to help normalize hormone levels and avoid too much metabolic slowing. I would suggest, at the very least, they add a few hundred calories to their diet every day. Probably, I would suggest eating at estimated maintenance (which is different from ‘the number of calories I eat where my weight doesn’t change’) for at least a week. I would also tell them to relax a little bit and maybe to retire the scale for a little while.

So why can’t I do it? Each day I think that maybe I’ll start an official diet break where I eat my estimated maintenance calories. I think about adding an extra snack or making one meal larger to compensate for the sudden jump in my activity levels. Instead, I continue to eat at the same deficit I did when I wasn’t on my feet and moving for 7 hours a day.

To be clear, I’m not going around hungry. I’m not punishing myself, but, despite knowing better, I keep avoiding the course of action that is most likely to get the results I’m after.

I hate my brain.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. April 28, 2009 9:37 am

    Oh, man. I feel your pain on that one, I really do. I recently upped my calories after reading a CRAPLOAD of research on why I should. I upped them fairly significantly (an extra 350 a day or so), and have been holding my breath ever since. But it’s been about 3 weeks now, and my weight finally stabilized. It’s not going down yet, but it’s not going UP either (which it had started doing – I tend to gain weight when I eat too little, and I figure it’s my bodies’ self-protection mechanism from starving myself all those years ago).

    ANYWAY. It seems to be working. I just added exercise back in, so we’ll see what that does to the equation. But I TOTALLY get where you’re coming from.

    • April 29, 2009 7:49 am

      That stabilization process is probably what is keeping me from acting. I mean, it’s so stupid to just keep doing to the same thing while not getting good results, but changing it is scary.

  2. April 28, 2009 9:53 am

    I can see how this would be a conundrum. If you think this might start getting you the results that you want, you might be able to convince yourself to slowly ease into it. For me, since I don’t count calories and don’t really know if I’m at maintenance or not (except by how I feel, which seems to work okay), I might eat an extra salad, or more fruit, or things that are unlikely to cause weight gain no matter how much I eat. That’s if I was actually following something long term, I’d start there. Comfort levels, and all…. I do think it’s good to shake it up a bit occasionally, with an unusually heavy or fatty meal, but that’s not for every day. I’d be nervous about giving up the scale, since I at least want to make sure my weight doesn’t go up-but that’s just me, and I’m generally okay (maybe occasionally annoyed) with non-movement on the scale.

    • April 29, 2009 7:47 am

      The scale thing is just so I can’t wig out if I have a sudden jump. I mean, even if I was eating several hundred calories over maintenance, I couldn’t actually gain a full pound of fat in a week, but it still would make me a little panicky.

      I think it’s a good idea to start adding extra healthy food. I think a lot of people use a diet break to eat a lot of junk which isn’t an eating pattern I want to get back into. Just adding a banana and a small salad each day could give me an extra couple hundred of calories.

  3. April 28, 2009 9:57 am

    BTW, I realize that we may somewhat disagree on whether one can gain weight eating oranges, collards, etc. I’m not sure that I’m right here, but I think calorie for calorie, high fiber high water food will discourage excessive consumption, unlike Cheetos or cake. It certainly takes more energy to digest.

    • April 29, 2009 10:23 am

      I don’t disagree that it’s a lot harder to gain weight on foods that are more filling and less energy-dense. In fact I think it’s a good strategy to increase consumption of those foods before (or instead of) thinking about lowering calories for anyone who wants to lose weight.

      I just have an issue with anyone who claims that the *only* way to gain weight and/or be fat is to eat unhealthy foods. If you eat a fair amount of healthy foods that are also high in calories (like avocados or even a lot of whole grains) it’s not hard to eat enough to maintain a fairly high weight.

      Of course it would be hard to eat thousands of calories worth of oranges though.

Leave a Reply

