Skip to content

Monday Poll: Breakfast Habits

April 13, 2009
My breakfast this morning. Awesome.

My breakfast this morning. Awesome.

We’ve all heard that eating breakfast can help weight-loss efforts. The explanations vary from preventing metabolic slowing after fasting all night to helping control snacking and overeating the rest of the day.

Even for people who aren’t concerned with losing/maintaining weight, breakfast is recommended as a way to improve general eating habits and aid concentration.

And yet for many people breakfast consists of caffeine and maybe a bite of pastry. Time is a big factor in this. In our already sleep-deprived culture, people are willing to trade breakfast for an extra half hour of sleep. But for some people, they are just not hungry in the morning. I used to be in the latter category. I have no idea what changed. It could be that as I made an effort to get at least seven hours of sleep per night that not being exhausted in the morning has helped my appetite. Maybe it’s because I’m more physically active throughout the day and am burning more calories and combined with eating less in the evenings, the energy gap is larger after sleeping than it used to be. Or it could be that making a concerted effort to eat has trained my body to expect breakfast. I dunno.

For me, a good size breakfast with an emphasis on fiber and protein definitely affects how I eat for the rest of the day. I no longer crave sweets all morning and I have more energy during the day.

However, if not eating breakfast works for someone else, I don’t think that forcing oneself to eat is necessarily such a great thing. So tell me about your breakfast habits…

If you do eat breakfast, what kind of stuff do you generally like to eat?

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Kate permalink
    April 13, 2009 3:36 pm

    Trader Joe’s hooks me up with breakfast options. I like their fiber cakes, meatless meatballs, cottage cheese, ready-to-heat sweet potatoes with splenda and cinnamon… yum!

  2. April 13, 2009 4:05 pm

    My breakfast issues are complicated.

    1) There’s the fructose sensitivity, which means hooking up with anything purchased or most starch-heavy breakfast ideas is going to screw my morning. If I am going to travel, eating pancakes is fine, cause then I can sit in the car and veg and Himself doesn’t expect sparkly bubbly me. But if I want to get up and start cleaning, nope. Gotta be proteins.

    2) I cannot eat when I first get up. Part of it is that I have pain problems and I have to get the pills down and working to be able to think about appetite before I hit STARVING! point. Part of it is having carried three kids and having had hyperemesis and a lot of smell sensitivity during the process, but having to make breakfast for Eldest anyway. I can eat eggs for dinner, or for lunch. I can eat them for a “working breakfast” if someone else cooks them. But I can’t do them myself.

    What I am slowly working out is that I can have a slice of homemade (so no yucky crap) heavy with fruit and nuts and good stuff sweet bread and a piece of sharp cheddar cheese in the morning once I am to the point I can think about doing my hair because I am not immersed in the pain anymore.

    I am just going to have to make the bread, slice it up, and freeze it in slices. Cause otherwise Himself and I wind up eating it all nom nom because it is so very very good. I honestly mostly would rather have this than gooey chocolate sorts of things.

  3. April 14, 2009 4:37 am

    I like big breakfasts about 2 hours after waking, if I have the time. I like an egg scrambled with spinach mushroom bacon and cheese on whole grain toast, or pancakes, or sometimes a bowl of cardboard cereal in chocolate soymilk and fake meat. (Yes, I eat real bacon and fake bacon). This tends to be my biggest meal of the day, maybe I’ll have 3 mini meals the rest of day. Sometimes I make a lf creamcheese and (wild) lox and chive schmear and eat some on two mini-ww-bagels from Trader Joe’s. And I always eat a lot of fruit.

    It depends on whether I’m working, or rushing off to gym.

  4. meerkat permalink
    April 23, 2009 2:22 am

    I have no appetite when I wake up and I can’t eat anything that is not sweet and carbohydratey unless it’s miso soup. I try to eat something for breakfast every day, but since there is no way I’m sacrificing sleep time to get up and cook, it’s usually a 180 calorie Luna bar. (Instant miso soup requires remembering to start water boiling with more than 10 minutes to spare.) Apparently 180 calories is not enough to keep me going until lunch, at all, even with a low glycemic index. I can’t say I have noticed any difference whatsoever between days I eat breakfast and the occasional day I don’t manage to eat anything before leaving in the morning. Still feeling very low-blood-sugar within a couple hours.

    • April 23, 2009 11:32 pm

      My girlfriend is the same way. For a time she just ate two of whatever breakfast bar she likes, but that got expensive. Since she’s a student, it’s a lot easier as she can eat after her first class, but she has had some luck with peanut butter. Something like jif is sweet enough to be tolerable early in the morning, but the fat and protein seem to help her maintain a more even feeling in the mornings. Sometimes though even a spoonful of PB is too much for her stomach in the mornings.

  5. April 24, 2009 1:41 am

    I know this is an old post, but I’m reading the “back issues,” so to speak. 😉

    Turkey ham, egg beaters and soy cheese. Pretty much every morning, all microwaved together and shoved in a container to be eaten at work. Too high in salt for sure, but for 40 grams of protein, I don’t care about the salt content.

    (Besides, about the only breakfast food I can eat is what I think of as Southern Food: ham & eggs, steak & eggs, biscuits & sausage gravy. Always a protein in there – usually a LOT of it.)

Leave a Reply

