Skip to content

Friday Five: Little things

March 13, 2009

Despite the fact that weight loss is often touted as a completely life changing event, I must admit that, for the most part, I don’t feel that different. Of course, despite having lost a little over 30lbs, I’ve only lost about 12% of my original weight so maybe the sudden morph into a perfected being happens around the 20% mark. (Or maybe people put a lot of blame on fat for problems that have more to do with the human condition than with BMI?)

When it comes to how I look, I feel a bit like a shrinky dink. I am smaller, but the general shape is still exactly the same. When it comes to clothes, I do have more options (again, why couldn’t Old Navy make shirts that would have fit me six months ago?) but I haven’t developed a sudden love for clothes. Not that I have the money to shop even if I did. And while my fitness level has improved, it’s not like I’m about to sign up for Ninja Warrior.

However, what has changed and what makes me very happy is the little ways that life has become easier and therefore opened up some new things for me.

1. Not worrying about hills.
– I live in very hilly country. The local park is chock full of winding hilly paths that used to fill me with nervous anxiety if someone suggested walking them. It wasn’t just hard, it was often painful trying to get up those hills. I needed breaks to catch my breath and even then it wasn’t fun. Being able to get up hills easily has expanded where I can go and the experience I have getting there. It’s more than being able to do it though, it’s that now these same hills are casual, easy walks. I can go to the park with my brother and our dogs, walk for 45 minutes and not feel as if I’ve been running for hours. Also, it’s remarkable how much I appreciate the scenery when I don’t feel like I’m dying.

2. Parking wherever I want.
– It doesn’t seem like much, but being able to grab whatever space I find because it doesn’t matter to me if I need to walk a few blocks is nice. Also, it allows me to save money in the city because I no longer feel the need to pay for close parking.

3. Stairs.
– I still can’t easily climb 4 or 5 flights of stairs, but I don’t need to do that much in my daily life. What I can do now is forget something upstairs and not have a debate with myself about whether that thing is worth the trip up to get it. Going up and down the stairs is like going room to room now. For me, this in particular is amazing.

4. Housework and gardening.
– It’s not that I couldn’t paint a room or clear a flower bed before. It’s that a few hours of hoeing and raking and planting no longer wipes me out physically for the day. It’s about being able to do paint a room during the day and then go dancing that night. It makes getting things done much easier to plan too.

5. Keeping up with kids.
– I don’t have any of my own (thankfully) but I really like kids. I’ve always had a lot of fun chasing them around, but there came a point when I would just have to sit and watch or try to get them involved in less vigorous activities because I wasn’t fit enough to keep up. Now, I’m not saying there doesn’t come a point when it’s time for ‘chase the monster’ to be over, but that’s about the sometimes boringly repetitive nature of entertaining children, not about being too out of breath to chase a toddler.

Now, I know what some people are thinking. Are these changes because you’ve lost weight or because you’ve been working out and focusing on functional fitness?

My answer? Yes.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. March 16, 2009 2:28 am

    Congratulations! My 3 things from making the same changes in my life:
    1) one of the few people in my family to hit 50 without being diagnosed with diabetes. My mom, 1 of my 2 sisters, and both my brothers have been. I doubt that I dodged that bullet entirely, but it’s good to push it back and
    2) less knee/hip pain. I can get up from a low chair without pain and
    3) the stair thing. Good to go up stairs without discomfort.

    • March 16, 2009 9:27 am

      Thanks and congrats to you as well.

      Number one is a huge deal too. I was just reading today about some of the links between diabetes and dementia so putting it off even might have a profound effect in the future. Definitely makes me determined to do what I can to get rid of this metabolic syndrome.

  2. Anna permalink
    March 23, 2009 12:22 pm

    This is a very nice list.

Leave a Reply

