Skip to content

Friday Fun: Music and the gym

February 6, 2009

Music is an integral part of exercise for me. Sometimes I think going to the gym is about having a place where I can listen to music without any interruptions. Or maybe it’s more that moving while listening to music seems to free up my mind more than just lying on my bed with headphones does (I can never just sit still and listen for long.) I won’t work out without music. I have gotten to the gym before only to turn right around and go home because I forgot my headphones or ipod.

I always love to hear what people like to listen to while working out. People who would claw their own ears out if you tried to play techno in their car who, nevertheless, love to run to techno. For me, I love working out to crappy pop music that for the most part annoys the hell out of me when I’m not working out.

So I thought it would be fun to share some of the music that really gets me going these days. It’s video-heavy so I’ll go ahead and cut it.


For those who are as nerdtastic as I am, YES, this is the music from the latest “Watchmen” trailer.


Kelly Clarkson’s new song. I credit it with my adding 5lbs to my bench press.


Yes. I own it. *sigh* Judge me.


This makes me want to take up dancing again.


This one is like my HIIT anthem. Hell yeah.

So what do you listen to in the gym? Can you workout without music?

6 Comments leave one →
  1. February 6, 2009 2:32 pm

    I don’t bring my own music–I listen to whatever is playing. In my gym in the morning, it’s full of retirees, so they have lots of country and classic rock. In the evening, with a younger crowd, there’s lots of the newer music. The most fun is during the Zuma class, when some of the Latin music wafts out. I can pretty much exercise to anything.

  2. February 8, 2009 1:59 am

    I only do the classes at the gym, so unfortunately I have to listen to what they put on. I prefer rap/hip-hop, but the instructors are all over the place. Abba, Justin Timberlake, Top 40, some of it I enjoy, much of it I tune out at the gym. When I walk in the city, I listen to nothing because I don’t want to get robbed, and I need to pay attention. When I walk in the woods I like the silence. It’s kind of like mindfulness, it forces me to be there then.

  3. February 9, 2009 4:35 pm

    I find that so interesting, Linda. My brother is the exact same way. He sort of listens to whatever background music the gym is playing. I feel like I would 1) Lose focus without my headphones and 2) Not have as much energy without the music to pump me up, but he just doesn’t need it.

    Julie, I would probably love the music in those classes. 🙂 Energetic crap-pop is definitely a workout staple for me. I’m with you on the silence in the woods though. It’s absolutely like moving meditation for me. I can’t wait til the trails around here are passable again.

  4. February 11, 2009 6:38 am

    Honestly, I’ve taken to watching TV on my iPod while I run on the treadmill. I can prop up the iPod, turn on the latest episode of Lost and go for 45 minutes/the length of the show. It’s pretty much the only time I watch TV, and I LOVE it.

    Outside, sometimes I like to run in the quiet, but if I’m listening to music, I’m with you on the crappy pop music. To be frank, Hannah Montana is my favorite running music. I KNOW, I KNOW! But it’s happy and peppy and puts me in a good mood. 🙂

    • February 11, 2009 8:05 am

      My gym has tv’s attached to some of the cardio machines, but my somewhat ADD tendencies seem exacerbated by the gym and I absolutely cannot pay attention to a plot for very long when I’m working out.

      HA! I can see how Hannah Montana would be extremely peppy music. I don’t think I’ve heard much of it, but honestly, I have Ace of Base on my ipod so I am not one to judge.

  5. March 12, 2009 7:40 am

    Prodigy or Chemical Brothers do it for me everytime…
    My iPod is the best workout machine I ever bought 🙂

Leave a Reply

