Skip to content

Link Dump

January 28, 2009

I promise I have like 40 trajillion posts in my drafts folder right now, but none of them are gelling quite the way they should. This nasty winter is sucking my brain out, I swear to NOTA.

But just because I suddenly can’t form a coherent thought, doesn’t mean others are so afflicted, so here are some of the things I’ve been reading that I think deserve a look:

First, from Fitness Fixation, a series of posts (2 so far, but more will be coming) by Shari who is embarking on a new adventure in terms of eating and taking care of herself…

So maybe I am not embarrassed as much as I am really really sad. Because it sucks to constantly feel like you don’t measure up. And it’s exhausting trying to live up to some ridiculous standard that you set for yourself. But mostly, it is soul-crushing. Even the moments that should be filled with pride and joy (like running my first half marathon) are soon over-shadowed by the critic in my head.

Shari’s New Adventure pt 1
And pt 2

I’m thinking a lot about this article on some possible reasons so many diets fail over at Lyle McDonald’s site.

And I’m especially thinking of the above in contrast to This article on why some people seem to be unable to get fat. (h/t to Lindsay at Babble for the article – you can read some of her thoughts on the article here.)

And finally, from Cranky Fitness, a handy dandy guide to answering that age old question “Should you work out today?”

4 Comments leave one →
  1. meerkat permalink
    January 29, 2009 3:23 am

    I see the only excuse for not working out is injury, so I guess if you don’t work out 7 days a week you are a lazy sucky procrastinator, I don’t care if you work 10 hours a day and come home to do cooking and housework and perhaps, God forbid, have a non-exercise-related hobby?

  2. January 29, 2009 7:54 am

    Excellent links! I’ve been reading them, and reading their links, finding excellent science! BTW, Meerkat, I work 8.5 hours a day, with an hour commute each way, which is mostly self-propelled (I sorta count it as exercise, though not strenous, possibly more leisurely than even moderate). I have to feed myself, clean my place (no kids, fortunately), but still make it to the gym any chance I get. My body screams for it. This does generally mean that I don’t get to sit down and relax until 10 pm, and I’m up at 5:30. Good thing I don’t need much sleep!

  3. January 29, 2009 3:44 pm

    I suppose I can see how you might think the cartoon promotes that kind of view, meerkat. I think it may be a difference of context though. I, and I would guess most of the readers at Cranky Fitness, are very much into fitness – being fit (and there are a ton of personal definitions for this) is a goal of mine. For me, that means sometimes having to psych myself up or remind myself of all the reasons I want to work on my fitness. And yeah, sometimes it also means having to be honest about when I’m making excuses and kicking my own butt.

    I know that in our body-obsessed culture that sounds terrible to a lot of people. But I think of it like my math classes. I’m in classes with lots of education majors who just want to teach middle school math so they want to pass calc 3 and they want to have some basic understanding of it, but since I’m a physics major, it’s a lot more important to me that I really truly know this stuff backwards and forwards. I study a lot more than most of my fellow students. I go to the professor a lot more than they do. I kick my own ass when I procrastinate because understanding this is important to me, but I also really enjoy the work despite sometimes having to force myself to do it.

  4. holeinmypockets permalink
    January 31, 2009 3:18 pm

    Horu mac veeh?

Leave a Reply

