Skip to content

New Fitness Goals

January 17, 2009

Seeing as I’ve now met 4 of my 5 previous goals (got my deadlift to 110lbs, easy) I think it’s time to find some new ones. First let’s see what I’ve accomplished:

1) Get at least seven hours of sleep most nights. Most being the operative word here, but I am resisting the urge to stay up until I pass out for the most part.
2) Squat 95lbs (I’m doing 80lbs right now.) Hell yeah. I’m at 105lbs, baby.
3) Dead lift 100lbs (doing 85lbs right now.)Doing 110lbs! I think the problem with deadlifts is mainly psychological at this point. I’ve heard so many horror stories of people injuring themselves that I’m moving up slowly on this lift.
4) Do 90/60 second splits during interval training.
5) Eat at least 400 calories before lunch. I’ve added scrambled tofu and rye toast to my usual morning cereal and now I don’t see how I functioned on just a bit of cereal and coffee.

So the interval training goal is the first one on the list. I know it’s good for me, but HIIT sucks all the ass in the world. I really like steady cardio and HIIT does not fill my head with that soothing calm that 40 minutes on the arc trainer gives me.

So my new goals:

1) Do 90/60 second splits during interval training and increase upper level intensity.
2) Bring military press up to 75lbs.
3) Bench press 90lbs.
4) Do 3 sets of 90 second planks 3 times per week.
5) Add split squats to routine once a week.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 18, 2009 4:55 am

    Long time no hear! Welcome back, you sound like you’re doing great with your exercise! I don’t think HIIT sounds like much fun either, and I haven’t/won’t try it. No athlete am I! I just do the classes, including the body sculpt (small weights, body weight exercises). Turbo kickboxing, my fave, has a few sessions of extra-fast turbo sessions, and a few other classes have some sprint stuff, and that seems fun enough. I’m enjoying it, so that’s what counts. I exercise my ass off, but I think, for weight loss anyway, that diet is easily 80% of it. Perhaps also being a non-car owner, biking everywhere means I exercise whether I want to or not.

  2. January 19, 2009 3:59 am

    Thanks!

    HIIT isn’t fun, but it’s a great way to get in an intense workout in a short period of time. Sprinting and turbo sessions sound like they would accomplish the same thing. I want to try some classes, but I’m such a loner when it comes to the gym. I love to just be alone, listen to my music and not talk to anyone so I keep making excuses not to go to classes.

    Yeah, diet really is the heart of fat-loss. I mean, exercise is great, but honestly I think of what I do more as a way to 1)keep myself sane and 2) keep my metabolism from slowing down too much due to the calorie-deficit.

Leave a Reply

