Skip to content

An xmas miracle

December 24, 2008

Since I’m generally eating below my maintenance level calorie-wise, gaining muscle and strength has been a slow process. It’s one of the only real drawbacks to how I’m eating these days, but losing fat requires an energy deficit and gaining muscle (afaik) requires at least a small surplus. My basic plan for now is to hold on to as much strength as possible while I’m going after fat loss, then I can focus on muscle gain later. And it’s worked well so far, I’ve maintained or improved all my lifts for the past few months and my metabolism has not slowed down below what would be predicted with the weight I’ve lost.

However, I figured that since I wasn’t planning on avoiding all the scrumptious treats of the holiday season, I would take advantage of those extra calories by really pushing myself hard on weight training.

And today, for the first time ever, I squatted 100lbs. I am so damn hardcore. I even did 5 reps!

Now, I’m not drawing a straight line between my being a squat queen and my consumption of vegan toffee, but still, maybe I can pulverize some and sell it as a supplement. God knows people will buy just about anything else GNC sells.

So that’s at least one of my fitness goals met so far! My dead lifts are still at 85lbs, but that’s ok. There’s plenty of toffee left.

Happy Xmas to those who celebrate it!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Mich permalink
    December 28, 2008 6:27 am

    Congratulations on the 100lbs squat, and all the best as you head towards 115lbs (35lbs per side) and 135 (45 per side). 🙂

  2. Roxanne permalink
    January 7, 2009 4:51 am

    Attrice: Come home – all is forgiven. Your mother and I worry about you.

  3. Roxanne permalink
    January 7, 2009 4:52 am

    P.S. You know us better as “Toxic” and “Chilly.”

    Love,
    Mom and Dad

  4. Barb permalink
    January 9, 2009 10:53 am

    Meeting weight lifting goals is the best.

  5. January 9, 2009 12:14 pm

    I’m a little old lady, and not doing weights like you are, but I’m working on the weight machines, and have upped mine a little. Yay for us!

  6. Susan permalink
    January 15, 2009 4:04 pm

    Congrats on the squat! I’ve been struggling with mine lately. Hmm… vegan toffee you say? I’ll have to look into that!

Leave a Reply

