Skip to content

Things I learned over thanksgiving

November 30, 2008

1. A large, healthy breakfast can keep me going for quite a while. I kind of have to keep it in this grey area between what I’d normally eat for breakfast and purposefully overeating (which would just make me feel bloated and tired.) But it’s really freeing knowing that I can plan around times when I don’t have time to eat lunch or get a snack without turning into superbitch, hungry attrice.

2. Twenty minutes of moderately intense exercise per day is the minimum of what I need in order to feel good physically. Missing it makes me feel like I’m going to burst out of my skin. However, so long as I can get in some activity, the details aren’t that important.

3. Even when trying to lose weight, I want everyone to shut up about my body. I don’t care if it’s a compliment in their mind.

4. When attending a very NOT VEGAN thanksgiving, don’t just make your own dishes, pack your own leftovers. I was totally flattered that everyone liked what I made, but I was pretty crabby the next day when everyone was enjoying leftover turkey and I had nothing left to eat.

5. Despite using my bathroom scale on a regular basis, I don’t freak out or worry about those numbers while away from home.

6. Next time don’t sit next to your cousins who like to spend thanksgiving dinner talking about the different techniques for “dressing” animals. Nothing good can come of it.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. December 2, 2008 12:37 pm

    3. Even when trying to lose weight, I want everyone to shut up about my body.

    Amen.
    Maybe I should wear a little “Hello” sticker that says “If you’re going to make a comment about my body, do so after I’ve left the room.”
    I’m willing to put up with body discussions if they are in a gym, within a six foot radius of the squat rack.

  2. Tangerina permalink
    December 4, 2008 5:33 am

    I know what you mean about breakfast… It’s the one meal where I routinely clean my plate (unless I’m eating out and my plate is bigger than usual) because even if I feel fuller on a given day I just kind of know by now what I need to get through the morning. If I’m fuller I just adjust at lunch and eat less or eat it later, but breakfast is pretty non-negotiable. My boyfriend even keeps breakfast supplies at his house even though he isn’t hungry in the mornings cuz he knows I’m no good without breakfast.

  3. December 4, 2008 3:17 pm

    3. Even when trying to lose weight, I want everyone to shut up about my body. I don’t care if it’s a compliment in their mind.

    What’s the matter, don’t you want your body to be public property? (sarc) Don’t worry, though, once you hit some weight and stay there, nobody will comment any more. Your body will just be an old hat thing everybody is used to.

  4. December 6, 2008 7:45 am

    Mich,

    Yeah, in the context of training and lifting, I don’t mind body talk either. Probably because I’m more likely to get a compliment on my squat form or how my ‘delts’ are looking than how much ‘prettier’ I am now or some crap like that.

  5. December 8, 2008 5:49 pm

    A woman at my gym told me the other day that my shape was really changing. I found it to be an interesting and non-offensive comment. That’s really the only comment I’ve gotten, though I’ve lost 20+ pounds, other than one of my tenants, who only sees me once every month of two when I go by the property to see if there are any lemons to steal. I’m actually a bit puzzled by it, though due to lack of disposable income, I’m still wearing the same dumpy clothes, so it’s likely hard to tell.

Leave a Reply

