Skip to content

how about some holiday eating tips

November 28, 2008

The problem with being a vegan in this tiny Midwestern town during thanksgiving is getting enough to eat. Forget diet tips, tell me how to find enough calories for the day among piles of meaty/cheesey leftovers. I never thought I would be yearning for tofurky.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. November 29, 2008 6:25 am

    We had a vegan at our Thanksgiving dinner (she brought a tofurkey), and I made salad, and a dressing from a vegan cookbook, that had honey. I know honey is one of those foods that some vegans will eat, and some won’t, but the few I’ve met eat it, and it didn’t occur to me. I felt bad, but it never even occured to me.

    I can’t understand how anybody can be truly vegan, or even vegetarian, unless they never eat out, or only hit vegan restaurants. I had one friend who accepted the inevitableness chicken broth and fish sauce, oyster sauce and whey, and just did the best she could. How strict are you?

  2. November 29, 2008 11:18 am

    Aw, I feel for you. I try to keep mostly vegetarian but I make exceptions here and there because it’s just so hard for me. I can’t imagine being vegan. The best thing I can think of is buying what you want and bringing it with you, though I don’t know if it’s too late for that.
    Also, you can always ask for things they might have in the house – plain fruits and veggies. Doesn’t solve your need for protein but it’s SOMEthing.

    On the bright side, isn’t it wonderful that you DON’T have the attitude many women might have, of “well good, this way I won’t eat too much”? That’s something to be proud of in itself – that you know your body needs nourishment and are looking for how to do that.

  3. December 6, 2008 8:31 am

    I’m strict, but I’m sure I’ve accidentally eaten non-vegan stuff at restaurants. At first, it did seem overwhelming trying to figure out everything that might have some chicken stock or butter in it, but most restaurants are pretty helpful and nowadays I pretty much know all the vegan options of most restaurants I go to.

    It helps that I love to cook though.

  4. December 6, 2008 8:38 am

    cggirl,

    My problem was thinking that most of my relatives wouldn’t be interested in what I had brought. I expected to have enough to eat my fill and have leftovers. Of course, it didn’t work out that way – which was flattering and annoying.

    Only a few years ago, I probably would have welcomed not having enough food. I am soooo glad that’s behind me.

Leave a Reply

