Skip to content

Movie snacks?

November 14, 2008

Going to see “Quantum of Solace” tonight and I was thinking about all the weird things I like to eat at the movies. I got out of the habit of popcorn because I used to only like it with that ‘ movie theater butter’ (this was before I knew the manufacture of this ‘butter’ was associated with an illness known as “popcorn lung”) and it’s generally not vegan.

I got in the habit of taking bags of sweet potato chips to the movies. They’re crunchy and yummy and satisfy that desire to crunch into something. For something sweet, since almost all movie theater candy is not vegan, I bring squares of Green and Black’s dark chocolate.

Recently, I discovered Kernel Seasonings. Only a few of the flavors are vegan, but they’re very tasty and now I’m once again enjoying popcorn at the movie theater. It also got me making some of my own popcorn seasonings which I bring in little baggies. My favorite is: popcorn salt, nutritional yeast, onion and garlic powder.

My one nod to traditional theater fare is soda. Movie theaters are the only place I drink coke. I usually don’t like it, but paired with some salty popcorn it is just so good.

What do you eat at the movies? Do you have any foods that you only eat in the theater?

Also, why is snacking such a necessary part of seeing movies for most people?

10 Comments leave one →
  1. November 14, 2008 7:27 pm

    Because movies are either during dinner time or way after dinner time, so the snacks are often in place of dinner?

    Because one can’t just watch a movie, and eating is socially acceptable? ๐Ÿ™‚

    Because most movies are boring and there’s no electrical outlet for your laptop, much less wifi? ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. November 14, 2008 8:35 pm

    Dry Cheerios! I get the crunch of popcorn, I don’t have to worry about whose hands have been in it, whole grain is great, I love the taste, and I know exactly how much I’m eating. Yum. I don’t know if I’ve ever commented here, but I love your blog and what you’re doing here.

  3. dareva permalink
    November 14, 2008 10:39 pm

    I always eat Raisinets at the movies. I love them, but I rarely eat them at any other time. They just say “movies” to me.

  4. November 15, 2008 4:11 am

    I don’t like to snack at the movies. I love popcorn, but I find the sound I make crunching it really annoying after a few handsfull.
    But isn’t it interesting that there’s this widely shared desire to snack in the movie theater/ in front of the tv?
    I like the explanatioin living400lbs offers. Most movies are boring – and sometimes I feel like I am consuming them like fastfood or very sweet and colourful candy

  5. November 15, 2008 12:13 pm

    It seems like lately I only go to about 1-2 movies a year because they’re so expensive and it seems like too much of a risk to see something in the theater if I’m not 100% positive I’m going to like it. But I either eat nothing, or if I plan ahead, I skip dinner so I will have room for a nice big bag of movie theater popcorn. I LOVE it and look forward to it all day. I will sometimes get a Cherry Coke with it–but so many theaters are going to Pepsi now (boo!) that I just get the vastly-inferior Diet Pepsi instead. It’s irritating because basically if they serve Coke, I have two tasty choices (Cherry Coke and Diet Coke), and if they serve Pepsi, I have none. Stupid Pepsi.

    (Yes, I realize this is a dumb thing to complain about)

  6. November 15, 2008 1:26 pm

    I usually don’t get snacks at the theater simply for the fact that they are godawful expensive. Really, I think the markup is some four to five times pricier than at stores for the same size snack. I also have never liked greasy, buttery popcorn — I prefer the Newman’s Own brand that is completely au naturale and then lightly spray the zero-calorie spray butter on it. And besides, the sound of a hundred mouths crunching popcorn in unison drives me insane. I sometimes spring for a Diet Coke, but unlike Spacedcowgirl, I actually prefer diet to regular soda, so I don’t mind the limited diet options.

    I don’t carry large purses generally, so it’s more difficult to hide my own snacks. Sometimes we’ll stop at Walgreens and get the same size box of M&Ms sold at the theater to share during the movie. I pay a $1 for it at Walgreens — it costs nearly $4 now at the theater. Our favorite at-home movie snack are the chocolate Quakes (which are one of our few HFCS exceptions).

  7. November 15, 2008 2:31 pm

    In the throes of my eating disorder, I chain-chewed sugarless gum during all the movies I’d see. It was torturous – that buttered fluff smelled so dang good – but I “knew” one bite would send me spiraling into some sort of doom. EDs are weird.

    Before my most recent movie outing, my friends and I stopped at a supermarket for a cheap-snack run. I had considered just getting gum, but opted for a box of Junior Mints. It was fantastic – I’d forgotten how good they are!

  8. twilightriver permalink
    November 15, 2008 4:46 pm

    Before I realized I had a digestive intolerance to corn, I would get chocolate covered raisins, peanuts, or almonds, depending on what the theatre stocked IF I was in the mood for a snack. Sometimes I was. Most of the time I wasn’t.

    The theatre was always a place where food was morally neutral, so I could have a snack if I wanted one or not notice if I didn’t. Either way, nobody cared because we were all there to see the show, so I didn’t care.

    When I was a kid the movie theatre was for Milk Duds and the drive-in was for Handi-Snacks and maybe a hot dog.

    These days, I just get a bottle of water.

  9. November 15, 2008 11:39 pm

    living400lbs, I think you might be onto something with the boredom thing. I was thinking about how movies are pretty much the only time, apart from sleeping where I don’t get up, or really move much at all, for several hours. I wonder if the snacking helps as a kind of way to channel energy.

  10. November 15, 2008 11:40 pm

    Thanks, Sarah.

    Cheerios, and cereals in general, are a really good idea that I hadn’t thought of before.

Leave a Reply

