Skip to content

Things that need to be made explicit

October 25, 2008

I never plan to try and lose weight by creating a very large calorie-deficit. One pound a week is what I’m looking at and even that isn’t the kind of goal that I must hit or I will cry and scream and fall into a deep depression. Not only are very low calorie diets completely unsustainable, but they’re not a good idea when one is trying to lose fat while minimizing the loss of muscle.

Anything I do to try and lose weight must be something I can do for the rest of my life. I won’t completely give up sugar or fat or packaged foods because that’s not something I can keep on doing forever.

Likewise, I recognize that flexibility is part of sustainability. Living the kind of life where I can’t accept an invitation to dinner because I haven’t ‘budgeted’ calories for it is no way I want to live.

I refuse to demonize food or the calories that food provides. I want to be more fit and without sufficient energy, I can’t do those physical things that I enjoy.

I do not believe that my life needs to be put on hold until I hit some imaginary perfect weight.

I’m focusing on what I want my body to be able to do, not what it may or may not look like.

The love of food and cooking is compatible with losing weight.

My belief that my weight is preventing me from being able to do some things and that it is effecting my health negatively is not about you. Everyone wants to live differently and health is both an individual metric and tied to individual genetics (although lifestyle plays a big part too.)

Comments are open and I welcome debate, but keep in mind that I won’t be running to other blogs to post arguments every time someone mentions setpoints, or the 95% statistic. Right now I’m still on the fatosphere feed (I did email to be removed, but I’m not sure what the policy is and I understand that people can’t devote every second to the internet) so I know that people may click over here who have some serious issues with what I’m saying. All I ask is that you 1) engage with what I’m actually saying and 2) keep things semi-polite.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. October 26, 2008 8:39 pm

    Good for you! I think your plan sounds sensible and sustainable, but most importantly, sane. Best of luck in your journey.

    You might find Jennette Fulda’s new memoir “Half-Assed” helpful. She also runs the popular blog PastaQueen. Fulda also wanted to lose weight for health reasons, but her number one rule was that her “diet” couldn’t make her crazy (I wouldn’t consider Fulda’s to be a diet in the commercial sense of the word; she realized that she needed to permanently change her lifestyle). I thought she took a very sensible and healthy approach to weight loss and hers isn’t one of those annoying “If I can do it, you can too!” kind of books. She’s very emphatic that you need to make changes that work best for you and your lifestyle, which may be different than the changes she’s made for herself.

  2. Lex permalink
    October 27, 2008 12:33 am

    This made me feel better about how I have also been feeling. Thank-you.

  3. October 27, 2008 4:43 am

    perhaps you should also look out for ways to reducing carbohydrates from your diet by making a low carb diet food list. This is important because then you will be ready and prepared when you head out to the supermarket, know what you are going to need to buy and can meal plan from here.

  4. julie permalink
    October 28, 2008 12:33 pm

    Yes, you can’t make yourself crazy with this. That’s been my problem in the past, the scale starts moving and I try to speed it up. At this point, most days I eat healthy and enough to be comfortable, but occasionally, a friend wants beer and pizza, or similar. It’s fine, I don’t stuff myself, but I write that day off for losing weight. Any alcohol, really, so I try not to drink more than 3-4 drinks a week.

    I like food and cooking, too. I don’t know about you, but my family was anti-fat, which was always my biggest sabotage. I think I will eat and eat until I have enough fat, which will be LOTS of calories with non-fat processed carbs. So now, I keep lots of fatty protein food around (cheese, nuts, smoked fish, bacon, chocolate almonds), and it keeps me happy. The only things I don’t keep in the house (that I like) are potato chips and ice cream. I’m happy and comfortable and content and don’t feel like I’m depriving myself.

  5. October 28, 2008 3:56 pm

    Julie,

    My family wasn’t anti-fat in terms of cooking or anything, but I still somehow absorbed the low-fat message all the same. Even today, I can’t stand any kind of commercial low-fat salad dressing.

    More importantly, I somehow decided the way to lose weight was to eat as little as I could for as long as I could. Comparing how I eat now, snacking on nuts and such throughout the day, regular and satisfying meals, to how I used to believe I had to eat in order to lose weight is like night and day.

Leave a Reply

